People

For auditions, advising and curriculum, please contact Lee Anne Frahn

Western Washington University
Department of Music
MS-9107
516 High Street
Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone: (360) 650-3130
Fax: (360) 650-7538

Main Office: Performing Arts Center 273

Chair

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Christopher
Bianco
DMA

Department Chair, Associate Professor, Director of Bands, Brass

(360) 650-3404

Christopher.Bianco@wwu.edu

Brass

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Christopher
Bianco
DMA

Department Chair, Associate Professor, Director of Bands, Brass

(360) 650-3404

Christopher.Bianco@wwu.edu

Gustavo
Camacho

Assistant Professor (Horn), Brass Area Coordinator

(360) 650-3259

Gustavo.Camacho@wwu.edu

PA 143
Gregory
Cox

Instructor, Trombone

(360) 650-3868

Gregory.Cox@wwu.edu

Vincent
Green

Senior Instructor, Trumpet

(206) 954-6825

Vincent.Green@wwu.edu

Carla
Rutschman

Emeritus

(360) 650-3751

Carla.Rutschman@wwu.edu

Jazz

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Greg
Feingold

Instructor, Jazz Bass

(708) 707-8322

Gregory.Overhultz-Feingold@wwu.edu

PA 273
Thomas
Harris

Instructor, Vocal Jazz

(360) 650-3130

Thomas.Harris@wwu.edu

Kevin
Woods

Assistant Professor of Music-Director or Jazz Studies

(360) 650-2689

Kevin.Woods@wwu.edu

PA 031

Music Composition

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Jon
Bash

Instructor

(360) 650-4091

Jon.Bash@wwu.edu

Charles
Halka

Assistant Professor, Composition

(360) 650-3868

Charles.Halka@wwu.edu

PA 141
Bruce
Hamilton

Professor, Theory, Composition, Electroacoustic Music

(360) 650-3711

Bruce.Hamilton@wwu.edu

PA 133
Jonathon
McCullough

Instructor, Electroacoustic Music

(360) 650-3130

mccullj6@wwu.edu

PA 178
Todd
Smith

Instructor, Composition, Popular Music History

(360) 650-7138

Todd.Smith@wwu.edu

High Street Hall 18
Lesley
Sommer

Associate Professor, Theory, Composition

(360) 650-7382

Lesley.Sommer@wwu.edu

PA 147
Jordan
Watson

Instructor, Composition and Music Technology

Jordan.Watson@wwu.edu

PA 173

Music Education

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Christopher
Bianco
DMA

Department Chair, Associate Professor, Director of Bands, Brass

(360) 650-3404

Christopher.Bianco@wwu.edu

Patricia
Bourne

Associate Professor, Coordinator of Music Education

(360) 650-2217

Patty.Bourne@wwu.edu

PA 045
Grant
Donnellan

Professor, Violin, Youth Orchestra

(360) 650-3718

Grant.Donnellan@wwu.edu

PA 135
Timothy
Fitzpatrick

Associate Professor, Choral Music Education

(360) 920-9036

Timothy.Fitzpatrick@wwu.edu

PA 039
Gail
Ridenour

Instructor, Music Education

gail.ridenour@wwu.edu

Zachary
Smith

Assistant Director of Bands, Brass, Band Music Education

(360) 393-0815

Zachary.Smith@wwu.edu

PA 029

Music Library

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Robert L.
Bussard

Library Supervisor

(360) 650-7607

Robert.Bussard@wwu.edu

Music Library, PA 376C
Marian
Ritter

Music Librarian

(360) 650-3696

Marian.Ritter@wwu.edu

Music Theory, History and Literature

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Jon
Bash

Instructor

(360) 650-4091

Jon.Bash@wwu.edu

Lucas
G Senger
MBA

Instructor, Arts Enterprise & Cultural Innovation

(360) 650-2719

Lucas.Senger@wwu.edu

High Street Hall 19
Kristina
Nielsen

Instructor, World Music

Kristina.Nielsen@wwu.edu

Amy
Smart

Instructor, Country Music

(360) 650-3130

Amy.Smart@wwu.edu

Bertil
Van Boer

Professor, Musicology, Theory, Collegium Musicum

(360) 650-2282

Bertil.vanBoer@wwu.edu

Jeanette
Wickell

Instructor

Jeanette.Wickell@wwu.edu

Percussion

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Gunnar
Folsom
MM

Instructor, Drums and Percussion

Gunnar.Folsom@wwu.edu

Patrick
Roulet

Associate Professor (Percussion), Percussion Area Coordinator

(360) 650-3394

Patrick.Roulet@wwu.edu

PA 023

Piano and Keyboard

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Jeffrey
Gilliam

Professor of Music

(360) 650-3709

Jeffrey.Gilliam@wwu.edu

PA 052
Milica
Jelača Jovanović
DMA

Professor, Piano, Coordinator of Keyboard Area

(360) 650-2870

Milica.JelacaJovanovic@wwu.edu

PA 172
Michelle
Stranges

Piano Technician

(360) 650-2485

Michelle.Stranges@wwu.edu

PA 061
Judith
Widrig

Senior Instructor, Piano

(360) 650-3252

Judith.Widrig@wwu.edu

PA 101
Kay
Zavislak
DMA

Instructor, Keyboard Skills

(360) 650-3235

Kay.Zavislak@wwu.edu

PA 101

Strings and Guitar

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Laura
Camacho

Instructor, Violin

(360) 650-3259

laura.camacho@wwu.edu

PA 143
Grant
Donnellan

Professor, Violin, Youth Orchestra

(360) 650-3718

Grant.Donnellan@wwu.edu

PA 135
Ryan
Dudenbostel

Assistant Professor, Director of Orchestral Studies

(360) 650-7712

Ryan.Dudenbostel@wwu.edu

PA 054
David
Feingold

Professor, Guitar

(360) 650-3516

David.Feingold@wwu.edu

PA 145
John
Friesen

Professor, Cello

(360) 650-7379

John.Friesen@wwu.edu

PA 137
Eric
Kean

Senior Instructor, Viola

(360) 650-4271

Eric.Kean@wwu.edu

PA 174
Ben
Musa

Instructor, Double Bass

(360) 650-3780

John.Musa@wwu.edu

PA 110
Aimée
Rieger

Instructor, Violin

(360) 650-6856

aimee.rieger@wwu.edu

Jill
Whitman

Instructor, Harp

(360) 650-3130

Jill.Whitman@wwu.edu

PA 119

Voice and Choirs

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Holly
Alcorn

Instructor, Voice

(360) 650-3130

holly.alcorn@wwu.edu

PA 176
Mark
Davies

Instructor, Voice, Opera

(360) 650-2015

Mark.Davies@wwu.edu

PA 041
Heather
Dudenbostel

Instructor, Voice

(360) 650-3130

Heather.Dudenbostel@wwu.edu

PA 273
Timothy
Fitzpatrick

Associate Professor, Choral Music Education

(360) 920-9036

Timothy.Fitzpatrick@wwu.edu

PA 039
Leslie
Guelker-Cone

Professor, Director of Choral Activities

(360) 650-3772

Leslie.Guelker-Cone@wwu.edu

PA 043
Thomas
Harris

Instructor, Vocal Jazz

(360) 650-3130

Thomas.Harris@wwu.edu

Melissa
Plagemann

Instructor, Voice

(360) 650-3130

Melissa.Plagemann@wwu.edu

PA 174
Eric
Rieger
DMA

Assistant Professor, Coordinator of Vocal Studies & Director of Opera

(360) 650-3787

Eric.Rieger@wwu.edu

PA 41
Rachel
Roulet

Head Staff Accompanist

(443) 797-7665

rachel.roulet@wwu.edu

PA 140
Jay
Rozendaal

Senior Instructor, Voice

(360) 650-2015

Jay.Rozendaal@wwu.edu

PA 060
Kathryn
Weld

Senior Instructor, Voice

(360) 650-2706

Kathryn.Weld@wwu.edu

PA 058

Woodwinds

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Erika
Block

Instructor, Clarinet

(360) 650-3133

Erika.Block@wwu.edu

PA 063
Lisa
McCarthy

Senior Instructor of Flute, Woodwind Area Coordinator

(360) 650-3133

Lisa.McCarthy@wwu.edu

PA 056
Pat
Nelson

Instructor, Bassoon

(360) 650-3749

Pat.Nelson@wwu.edu

PA 063
Jennifer
Weeks

Instructor, Oboe

(360) 650-3749

Jennifer.Weeks@wwu.edu

PA 063
Fred
Winkler

Instructor, Saxophone

(360) 650-7740

Fred.Winkler@wwu.edu

PA 056

Music Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Heather
Dalberg

Administrative Services Manager

(360) 650-7640

heather.dalberg@wwu.edu

PA 273
LeeAnne
Frahn

Program Coordinator, Undergraduate Advisor

(360) 650-4091

LeeAnne.Frahn@wwu.edu

PA 263
Gabriel
Manalac

Staff Accompanist

(360) 650-3130

Gabriel.Manalac@wwu.edu

Rebecca
Manalac

Staff Accompanist

(360) 650-2073

Rebecca.Manalac@wwu.edu

PA 140
Rachel
Roulet

Head Staff Accompanist

(443) 797-7665

rachel.roulet@wwu.edu

PA 140
Joshua
Shade

Recording Studio

Joshua.Shade@wwu.edu

Michelle
Stranges

Piano Technician

(360) 650-2485

Michelle.Stranges@wwu.edu

PA 061
Patty
Zadeh

Administrative Services

(360) 650-3130

Patty.Mahboobzadeh@wwu.edu

PA 273

Emeritus

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Carla
Rutschman

Emeritus

(360) 650-3751

Carla.Rutschman@wwu.edu

Gene
Zoro
BM, MM

Professor Emeritus

gene.zoro@wwu.edu

Emeritus

Phil Ager -- MA, University of Washington; BAEd, Western Washington State College

Edward Rutschman -- PhD, University of Washington; MM, Arizona State University; BM, University of Northern Colorado

Ford Hill -- AB, Wisconsin State University; MA, Indiana University

Jack Morris -- MM, Indiana University; BA, Brigham Young University

Mary Terey-Smith -- DM, Eastman School of Music; MM, University of Vermont; BM, Liszt Academy of Music

David Wallace -- DMA, Eastman School of Music; MM, University of Wisconsin; BM, University of Michigan