People

Western Washington University
Department of Music
MS-9107
516 High Street
Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone: (360) 650-3130
Fax: (360) 650-7538

Main Office: Performing Arts Center 273

Chair

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Dr.
Christopher
Bianco

Department Chair, Associate Professor, Director of Bands, Brass

(360) 650-3404

Christopher.Bianco@wwu.edu

Brass

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Dr.
Christopher
Bianco

Department Chair, Associate Professor, Director of Bands, Brass

(360) 650-3404

Christopher.Bianco@wwu.edu

Dr.
Gustavo
Camacho

Assistant Professor (Horn), Brass Area Coordinator

(360) 650-3259

Gustavo.Camacho@wwu.edu

PA 143
Gregory
Cox

Instructor, Trombone

(360) 650-3868

Gregory.Cox@wwu.edu

Vincent
Green

Senior Instructor, Trumpet

(206) 954-6825

Vincent.Green@wwu.edu

Carla
Rutschman

Senior Instructor, Tuba, Euphonium

(360) 650-3751

Carla.Rutschman@wwu.edu

Jazz

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Greg
Feingold

Instructor, Jazz Bass

(708) 707-8322

Gregory.Overhultz-Feingold@wwu.edu

PA 273
Kevin
Woods

Assistant Professor of Music-Jazz Area Coordinator

(360) 650-2689

Kevin.Woods@wwu.edu

PA031

Music Composition

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Dr.
Bruce
Hamilton

Associate Professor, Theory, Composition, Electroacoustic Music

(360) 650-3711

Bruce.Hamilton@wwu.edu

PA 133
Todd
Smith

Instructor, Composition, Popular Music History

(360) 650-7138

Todd.Smith@wwu.edu

High Street Hall 18
Dr.
Lesley
Sommer

Associate Professor, Theory, Composition

(360) 650-7382

Lesley.Sommer@wwu.edu

PA147

Music Education

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Dr.
Christopher
Bianco

Department Chair, Associate Professor, Director of Bands, Brass

(360) 650-3404

Christopher.Bianco@wwu.edu

Dr.
Patricia
Bourne

Associate Professor, Coordinator of Music Education

(360) 650-2217

Patty.Bourne@wwu.edu

PAC 45
Grant
Donnellan

Professor, Violin, Youth Orchestra

(360) 650-3718

Grant.Donnellan@wwu.edu

Timothy
Fitzpatrick

Associate Professor, Choral Music Education

(360) 920-9036

Timothy.Fitzpatrick@wwu.edu

PA-39
Zachary
Smith

Assistant Director of Bands, Brass, Band Music Education

(360) 393-0815

Zachary.Smith@wwu.edu

PAC 29

Music Library

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Robert L.
Bussard

Library Supervisor

(360) 650-7607

Robert.Bussard@wwu.edu

Music Library, PA 376C
Marian
Ritter

Music Librarian

(360) 650-3696

Marian.Ritter@wwu.edu

Music Theory, History and Literature

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Lucas
G Senger

Instructor, Arts Enterprise and Cultural Innovation

(360) 650-2719

Lucas.Senger@wwu.edu

High Street Hall 19
Amy
Smart

Instructor, Country Music

(360) 650-3130

Amy.Smart@wwu.edu

Dr.
Bertil
Van Boer

Professor, Theory, Collegium Musicum

(360) 650-2282

Bertil.vanBoer@wwu.edu

Jeanette
Wickell

Instructor

Jeanette.Wickell@wwu.edu

Percussion

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Dr.
Patrick
Roulet

Percussion Area Coordinator

(360) 650-3394

Patrick.Roulet@wwu.edu

PAC 23

Piano and Keyboard

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Jeffrey
Gilliam

Professor of Music

(360) 650-3709

Jeffrey.Gilliam@wwu.edu

PA 52
Dr.
Milica
Jelača Jovanović

Associate Professor, Piano, Coordinator of Piano Area

(360) 650-2870

Milica.JelacaJovanovic@wwu.edu

PAC 172
Michelle
Stranges

Piano Technician

(360) 650-2485

Michelle.Stranges@wwu.edu

PA 111
Judith
Widrig

Senior Instructor, Piano

(360) 650-3130

Judith.Widrig@wwu.edu

Kay
Zavislak

Instructor, Keyboards

(360) 650-2870

Kay.Zavislak@wwu.edu

Strings and Guitar

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Dr.
Laura
Camacho

Instructor, Violin

(360) 650-3259

laura.camacho@wwu.edu

PAC 143
Grant
Donnellan

Professor, Violin, Youth Orchestra

(360) 650-3718

Grant.Donnellan@wwu.edu

Dr.
Ryan
Dudenbostel

Director of Orchestral Studies

(360) 650-7712

Ryan.Dudenbostel@wwu.edu

PA054
David
Feingold

Professor, Guitar

(360) 650-3516

David.Feingold@wwu.edu

John
Friesen

Professor, Cello

(360) 650-7379

John.Friesen@wwu.edu

Eric
Kean

Senior Instructor, Viola

(360) 650-4271

Eric.Kean@wwu.edu

Ben
Musa

Instructor, Double Bass

(360) 650-3780

John.Musa@wwu.edu

Walter
Schwede

Professor, Violin

(360) 650-6856

Walter.Schwede@wwu.edu

Jill
Whitman

Instructor, Harp

(360) 650-3130

Jill.Whitman@wwu.edu

Voice and Choirs

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Holly
Alcorn

Instructor, Voice

(360) 650-3130

holly.alcorn@wwu.edu

PA 176
Mark
Davies

Instructor, Voice, Opera

Mark.Davies@wwu.edu

Heather
Dudenbostel

Instructor, Voice

(360) 650-3130

Heather.Dudenbostel@wwu.edu

PA 273
Timothy
Fitzpatrick

Associate Professor, Choral Music Education

(360) 920-9036

Timothy.Fitzpatrick@wwu.edu

PA-39
Leslie
Guelker-Cone

Professor, Director of Choral Activities

(360) 650-3772

Leslie.Guelker-Cone@wwu.edu

Melissa
Plagemann

Instructor, Voice

(360) 650-7640

Melissa.Plagemann@wwu.edu

Jay
Rozendaal

Senior Instructor, Voice

(360) 650-2015

Jay.Rozendaal@wwu.edu

PAC 60
Dr.
Amber
Sudduth Bone

Director of Voice Pedagogy and Opera

(360) 650-3787

Amber.Bone@wwu.edu

PAC 41
Kathryn
Weld

Senior Instructor, Voice

(360) 650-2706

Kathryn.Weld@wwu.edu

Woodwinds

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Erika
Block

Instructor, Clarinet

Erika.Block@wwu.edu

Lisa
McCarthy

Senior Instructor of Flute, Woodwind Area Coordinator

(360) 650-3133

Lisa.McCarthy@wwu.edu

PA56
Pat
Nelson

Instructor, Bassoon

(360) 650-2706

Pat.Nelson@wwu.edu

PA58
Jennifer
Weeks

Instructor, Oboe

(360) 650-3749

Jennifer.Weeks@wwu.edu

PA 63
Fred
Winkler

Instructor, Saxophone

(360) 650-7740

Fred.Winkler@wwu.edu

Music Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail Location
Heather
Dalberg

Administrative Services Manager

(360) 650-7640

heather.dalberg@wwu.edu

PAC 273
LeeAnne
Frahn

Program Coordinator, Undergraduate Advisor

(360) 650-4091

LeeAnne.Frahn@wwu.edu

PA 263
Rebecca
Manalac

Staff Accompanist

(360) 650-2073

Rebecca.Manalac@wwu.edu

PA 140
Rachel
Roulet

Head Staff Accompanist

(443) 797-7665

rachel.roulet@wwu.edu

PA 140
Michelle
Stranges

Piano Technician

(360) 650-2485

Michelle.Stranges@wwu.edu

PA 111
Patty
Zadeh

(360) 650-3130

Patty.Mahboobzadeh@wwu.edu

PAC 273

Emeritus

Phil Ager -- MA, University of Washington; BAEd, Western Washington State College

Carla Rutschman -- PhD, University of Washington; MM, Arizona State University; BA, University of Northern Colorado

Edward Rutschman -- PhD, University of Washington; MM, Arizona State University; BM, University of Northern Colorado

Ford Hill -- AB, Wisconsin State University; MA, Indiana University

Jack Morris -- MM, Indiana University; BA, Brigham Young University

Mary Terey-Smith -- DM, Eastman School of Music; MM, University of Vermont; BM, Liszt Academy of Music

David Wallace -- DMA, Eastman School of Music; MM, University of Wisconsin; BM, University of Michigan