WWU Orchestras: Reineke, Mason, Barber, and Copland


  • General admission: $15
  • WWU employees: $5
  • Students with ID: free - get a voucher ticket from the box office or online. Ticket is required for admission.

Disability Accommodations

Equal Opportunity Institution. 24+ hours advance notice is appreciated for accommodations.

The Western Washington University Orchestras share an eclectic evening of music for string and full orchestra. The String Sinfonia continues its year-long exploration of Carl Reinecke’s Tone Pictures, along with Quinn Mason’s mercurial Irish Dance Suite, woven of both traditional and original themes. All the WWU Strings then join forces in the heart-rending Adagio for Strings by Samuel Barber. Finally, the WWU Symphony Orchestra concludes the evening with Aaron Copland’s iconic 1944 ballet score, Appalachian Spring.

Concert Program

  • Carl Reinecke: Tone Pictures (Selected)
  • Quinn Mason: Irish Dance Suite for String Orchestra
  • Samuel Barber: Adagio for Strings (Combined WWU Orchestras)
  • Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring
Usher registration
Date Time Venue Sign up link
Performing Arts Center 155 - Concert Hall Sign up to usher for at